1. Help Portal
  2. Using Deputy
  3. People
  4. Adding Training Requirements
  1. Help Portal
  2. Using Deputy
  3. Scheduling
  4. Adding Training Requirements

Adding Training Requirements

Updated on July 24, 2017

Before You Start

To set this up, you’ll need to be either a Location Manager or a System Administrator. Training requirements will allow you to control which employees are recommended to work in a particular area. If an area has the training category and the employee doesn’t, the employee can’t be recommended to work there. If the area has more than one training category, the employee needs all of them to be recommended. Easy! We’ll show you how it works below.

How Do I Create Training Modules?

First, click Locations at the top of your screen. Next, click “Edit Settings” next to the location.

Locations: Edit Settings
Locations: Edit Settings

Next, please click “Areas” on the left. You’ll see your areas displayed for you. Please click “Edit” next to one you’d like to create training for, or apply existing training to.

In the Area you’ll see a section named training. To create a new training category please click in the training area and begin typing it in. You’ll see the training category appear below. To finalise it’s creation you MUST click it. Afterwards, click Save.

That’s it! You’ve created the training category, and after clicking the training category to finalise it it will appear as below.

How To Apply Training

Once you’ve created training for your Areas, you’ll need to apply it to your employees. There are two ways to do this.

Applying Training To Single Employees

To do this, please go to the People page. Next, click Options then Edit next to an employee. This will bring up their profile.

People: Editing employee's details
People: Editing employee’s details

In the employee’s profile, please scroll down to the training section and click it. You’ll see the training you created in the list displayed.

People: Editing employee's training
People: Editing employee’s training

Next, you’ll see it displayed in the training list. Finally, click the Save button at the bottom. That’s it!

People: Edit details
People: Edit details

Applying Training To Multiple Employees

To do this, go to the People page. Next, you’ll need to click the checkboxes on the left of each employee you’d like to add the training to.

People: Select multiple employees
People: Select multiple employees

Next, click “Bulk Actions” at the top of the list, where you’ll see an option reading “Add Training”. Please click it.

Next, click in the box and select the training you have created in the list displayed.

After doing so, please click Save. That’s it!

Edit Training Modules

Training modules have additional functionality to allow for attached files, comments, and expiry dates.

training_module_edit

To edit a training module, simply navigate to the ‘People’ page, then click ‘Edit’ on the employee you would like to alter.

edit_employee

Now, scroll down until you see ‘Job Information’. Next to each training module is an Edit icon. Click this to expand the edit box.

edit_training_module

You can now edit the expiry date, add comments, or even upload a relevant file within this module.

training_module_edited

Remember to click ‘Update Training’ when you’re finished.

Icons

Additional icons may appear next to each training module, as displayed below:

training_ui_icons

Here’s what each of these means:

Icon

Description

 valid_training This icon means that the training module is current and valid.
 file_attached_training This icon indicates that there is a file attached to this training module.
 comment_training This icon means that there is a comment attached to this training module.
expired_training  This icon indicates that the training module is expired.

Filters

In the people page, you can now view filters based on training expiry.

training_filters

Training

Here you can search for employees with specific training modules.

Training Expiry

training_expiry_filter

Here, you can filter employees who have expired training modules, or upcoming expired modules.

upcoming_expiry

If the training is highlighted orange, it means that the training module is expiring within the specified number of days (Expires in next 30/60/90 days filter selected).

expired_training_filter

If the training is highlighted red, it means that the particular training module is expired.

Receive Notification for Upcoming Training Expiry

Deputy extensions allow you to add extra functionality to your Deputy account. These are based on event triggers. You can set up a Deputy extension which will send you a notification when a training module is about to expire. Our help doc found here will walk you through creating and using extensions.

You can find out more about the Expiring Training extension below.

Extension – Expiring Training > Send Notification

In case of re-training, Deputy will allow you to set training module expiry dates. This extension will ensure that you are informed well before this set date, in the instance of having to schedule training dates for employees. You can choose to send a notification to the employee, to the manager who created the training record, or to both. You can also select the specific training record to create a notification for. Finally, you can select when the notification will be sent out, from 7, 14, 30, 60 or 90 days before the expiry date.

expiringtraining_notification_extension

Have any feedback for our Help Portal? Anything we can fix to improve your Help Portal visit? Fill in our Deputy Help Portal Feedback Form!

Can’t find what you’re looking for? Fill in our Deputy Help Documentation Request Form to leave any feedback or suggestions for our help documents.

comments powered by Disqus