- Georgia passed a law (SB 201) on May 8th, 2017 allowing employees to use paid sick leave to take care of immediate family members.
- Only employers that currently offer sick time and have 25 or more employees are required to participate.
- This ‘Kin Care’ law goes into effect July 1, 2017.
- Georgia does not currently require paid sick time.
- In 2006 Georgia passed a preemptive law to prevent GA cities from enacting their own sick leave and minimum wage laws, catalyzing surrounding states to make the same changes.
Access the FREE 50-State Legal HR Toolkit by Littler
On May 8th Georgia Governor Nathan Deal passed a new labor law enabling employees to use their paid sick leave to care for their immediate family members. The “kin care law” will go into effect on July 1, 2017, and applies to Georgia private sector businesses with 25 or more employees. This law only applies to employees who work a minimum of 30 hours a week and for businesses that provide paid sick leave or plan to offer it in the future. Employees are entitled to use up to 5 days of paid sick leave to care for their children, spouse, parents, grandparents or any dependent on the employee’s most recent tax return.
Currently, seven states require paid sick time; Connecticut, California, Massachusetts, Oregon, Vermont, Arizona, and Washington. States like Connecticut accrue one hour of paid sick time per 40 hours worked.
There has been a growing trend of U.S. states increasing paid sick requirements and an overall increase in regulatory enforcement of local, state, and federal labor laws for private sector employers. If your business offers paid sick leave, be sure to prepare for the new law by updating your leave policy to permit those eligible to use up to 5 sick days to care for family members. You’ll also want to read up on your business’s obligations with the federal Family Medical Leave Act.
How can Deputy help with the Kin Care Law update?
- Using Deputy’s Communication Portal, share this update with your employees. See who has viewed the message and follow up with the employees who have not confirmed the message.
- Setup a Stress Profile for employees to not work greater than 30 hours per week. (Employees are only eligible for the Kin Care benefit if they work a minimum of 30 hours per week).
- Use the Deputy Kiosk time & attendance app for accountability of hours worked.
- Integrate with a payroll provider who tracks accruals.
Deputy provides built-in scheduling so you can easily create schedules, assign employees to shifts or shifts to employees, and sync schedules with payroll data to ensure accurate pay and control labor costs. To learn more, set up time to chat with one of our reps:
The information contained in this article is general in nature and you should consider whether the information is appropriate to your needs. Legal and other matters referred to in this article are of a general nature only and are based on Deputy's interpretation of laws existing at the time and should not be relied on in place of professional advice. Deputy is not responsible for the content of any site owned by a third party that may be linked to this article and no warranty is made by us concerning the suitability, accuracy or timeliness of the content of any site that may be linked to this article. Deputy disclaims all liability (except for any liability which by law cannot be excluded) for any error, inaccuracy, or omission from the information contained in this article and any loss or damage suffered by any person directly or indirectly through relying on this information.